Burn Out

We’ve just about made it through the winter. The nights are drawing out. I’m getting up when there’s light in the sky instead of feeling like it’s midnight. But burnout is catching up on me. An intense work schedule since last August has finally taken its toll and I’m slowing down.

I’m not the only one. A work colleague ended up in hospital the other day. He thought it was a knock on effect from a two day bender (I gave him a knowing look) but all the medics wanted to know was what he did for a living.

It’s a trait of the self employed. You do it because you are organised and self reliant and because the 9 – 5 just does not work for you. But knowing when to stop is all part of the job description. I am the first to admit I am a workaholic. It’s difficult when you love what you do to know what down time is, because every day is great. Why break from something you love?

So I’m taking a look at my work schedule – we all are. TGhe fact is, if you don’t want to work you won’t. And slowly my brain is detaching itself from the routine. I’ve been watching tv. And in bed by 11.30. When I can’t wait to get into bed, there is clearly something wrong.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

