Taking A Break

Much as I have enjoyed the festivities and family time, it is not in my nature to stop and take time off. Unlike most people I am lucky in that what I do is what I love. I have no need to break from it. My brain simply does not shut off to writing and creating just because 5pm comes around. I am hardwired 24/7.

And so most of the time I spent with family was in reality an excuse to sit and type and redraft all day without having to feel like I was neglecting the other responsibilities in my life. I managed to stay off the laptop entirely on Christmas day but that really was it. And I don’t feel bad for that. Why should I? I have a passion, something that engages me from morning til night. It is something tangible. I am proud of my skills and my drive and enthusiasm. I have dreams of grandeur. And this is okay.

2017 promises some incredible experiences, some productive collaborations and a chance to put a lot of things on the map so to speak. And honestly, I have been itching to get back to Manchester and get the calender off to a productive start.

The next five months are already pretty much booked up from where I am standing – my calendar only looking empty from mid May once I return from Venice. Incidentally it’s already booked up again with a return trip in September. In the meantime there are all manner of opportunities waiting around the corner to fill the gaps in my time from fashion shows, to my work at Newstead Abbey, to publishing the revised edition of my book, to finishing my film script.

And I cannot wait.

These are exciting times.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

