The Look Of A Final Edit

What does a final script look like before the producer, the director, the cast get their hands on it? When you watch a film in all its perfection, the cast with all their affectations, the locations and scene cuts so perfectly laid out and timed…is that in the final draft?

I know cast direction, changes to lines, movement etc are all tweaked anywhere from first read through to final edit. But how much of it would you expect to see on the page in those early days?

The fact is, when someone reads through your work, what is it that catches their eye? How perfect does it have to be. Is a script ever perfect before it goes to rehearsals? Does it have to be as detailed as a completed novel? Or are we allowed to give the reader the opportunity at that stage to read into it all the little details. This is your sales pitch. You must get it right.

It’s a worry, because I can see the final cut in my head as I write and as I read my work, but how much of that comes across? Am I selling it short? Or spoonfeeding too much? What is the balance at presentation stage.

The image at the top of this blog is cast notes for Deadpool. This is exactly how I see it after the cast have gotten a hold of it. And to me, it’s a bit like a work of art. I love redrafting and refining and perfecting and cutting and expanding and all that stuff that many writers dread.

I would be thankful to get to this stage and grateful of the intercedence.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

