Live For The Moment

I was talking to a colleague just the other day about living life to the full. They are about 30 years older than me, and said that it takes time to realise this is how life should be lived. It makes sense of course. If you’ve had a close call with death, or as you reach that inevitable outcome I suppose it does start to dawn on you that life is more precious. Suddenly there doesn’t seem to be enough of it to squeeze in everything on your bucketlist.

And then I came home and saw that on BBC iPlayer there is a documentary about people ‘struggling’ to cope with the problems of the rubbish collection service in Wales.

And I questioned everything.

I enjoy life a lot more since becoming single. I grasp opportunities in a way I hadn’t before. I’ve been given a renewed energy. It first dawned on me at the beginning of this year when I lost a 28 year old friend to cancer. Never had someone with such a zest for life been less deserving of such an untimely end. And singledom in August was the final realisation that my life is my own to be lived how I want it.

In this respect I often compare myself to my ancestors – and obviously the one who had the most exciting life. Someone who, before cars, trains and planes, managed to get around a good chunk of Europe, bits of North East Africa and even Jamaica. I feel woefully inadequate by comparison and my excuses are lame.

I don’t think it’s possible to make up for lost time. I could never catch up on all those things I would do if money weren’t a hindrence. But I do believe in going forward – onward – upward. And continuing in a different vein.

I like my new veins. And I don’t regret because it is a futile exercise which only wastes more time.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

