Try Talking

If someone inspires you, write to them….

I have always been enthusiastic about contacting anyone who I think will be interested in my work, or if we have mutual interests. Without it, nothing I have achieved would have happened. October was another prime example of that.

I don’t mean contact some celebrity and say ‘Hey I’m a big fan, talk to me’. Do you have any idea how much of that people get? I mean be constructive. I have no qualms about contacting writers, actors, publishers, archives, repositories, researchers or distant relatives if I think they would be interested in my work and I think there is a sniff of a collaboration or recipricol exchange of information.

I am not a famous person, far from it. But in my own way I am still on some kind of level. I have substance, a background, I do things with my life. And I am very serious about what I do. Most importantly I have something to say. I am an authority on my subject and that must count for something. So when I wrote my blog entry ‘It’s Not What You Know‘ this is what I meant.

If you don’t stick your neck out no one will find you. Nobody just gets discovered. You have to be your own agent. And in our modern age of information overload, you really have to work at it.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

