Life Is Your Best Material

My ex keeps firing statements at me via text about all the good things about our relationship. About how he got stability and did things that helped to shape him into a better person.

He finally asked ‘How about you?’

I came at the relationship from a whole different background to him. So my experiences have been different and have shaped me in a different way. For the better of course. I’m not damaged.

He has come out a better person, or so he says. He’s in another relationship. Hell, he was in another relationship before I ended ours (the tipping point of our slowly disintegrating existence). I learnt the lessons I should have learnt before I met him. I guess I just needed that one last push in the right direction. I’m done.

I have learnt to put myself first. I have learnt that putting my life and my dreams on hold for someone else is a wasted sacrifice. I have learnt good things too (although I’m not sure those previous reasons were actually bad). I have had some interesting and liberating experiences. Definitely some bucketlist goals.

I’m not bitter or angry. I’m grateful. I’ve got another chance. A chance to do things my way. I’ve learnt not to settle for second best.

The change in circumstances is certainly proving good for my career. Now that it’s just me, it’s all about me. It’s all about how I shape my own future without having to worry what someone else thinks. That in itself is a bit scary. I have no excuses now. So what am I waiting for?

So I don’t know how to answer his question. I know that I’ve got some good material though. Any writer should draw on life’s experiences. But I haven’t quite worked out how to interpret this one yet.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

