How To Sell A Film Script

The phrase ‘It’s not what you know, but who you know‘ was never so true as it is in the creative industries. Even now as I enter the 100th page of my new script I am trying to work out how on earth I will pitch it.

When I got my book published, it was only because I knew a publisher as more than a passing acquaintance I was able to make a confident approach. When I did Radio 4 I already had my foot in the door at the BBC.

Those things created spin offs and once you’re in it’s important to hang on to those threads of familiarity.

But it’s been two years since my book was published. Action in the creative writing side of my life dried up as I concentrated on starting my business and forging my contacts and networks there.

So how do you pitch an unsolicited script? In this modern age can you even begin to consider the cold call. You have to get to know people. By setting up Twitter and Instagram accounts for my authorship, the hope is I can start to build on existing contacts and form new relationships. So as I reaffirm my allegiance to the worlds of Lord Byron and Benjamin Disraeli, so I hope to rekindle those connections that once existed.

Often, a great idea sparking that inspiration in the powers that be, can’t be done on a white A4 page or with a characterless email. It might be someone you meet at a bar, or at an event of like-minded individuals. It might be a completely chance meeting that you never even considered. That’s called fate. Right time, right place. And I believe it.

Whatever it is, THAT is the thing which can start the ball rolling. And that’s more likely where I am going with it.

My great great great grandfather, the subject of my original book, is the shining example of the title of this blog entry. His life reads like a who’s who of Regency literature. He bounced between poets, MPs and writers and there’s no denying knowing one led to the next. From Matthew Lewis, to Lord Byron and Percy Shelley, to James Clay and Benjamin Disraeli, this was a man who ‘knew’ everyone by association. It kept him in work for nearly 60 years.  He is the example I use.

And why not? Maybe it’s in the blood.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

