Too Busy Blogging

I wonder if blogging is sapping my desire to write anything more substantial? Maybe by distracting myself with all this other stuff, I’m forgetting the bigger picture.

Lots of authors blog. You have to be great at selling your own work. The culture of online publishing means promoters don’t do it because who’s selling real papery things anymore?  But it makes sense. The book or script is just one thing. A blog is how you continually add interest to your work, add personality to the person behind it and get yourself an audience.

In the same way reading expands your creative mind, shouldn’t writing help to exercise the creative muscles? And realistically I can’t always be writing another book or script. The fact of the matter is I HAVE to write. I have to write every day and I like variety.

I’ve been looking for inspirational blogs. Mostly amusing ones. The last thing I read that was really funny was the Joe Orton diaries. I have a very dry sense of humour.

But most of what’s around now seems to be a sales pitch and I hate the hard sell. It’s just a round up of how well things are going. ‘Look at my latest signing event’. ‘Oh I wrote a chapter today’. Blah blah blah. I hope mine isn’t as boring as theirs.

The only one that springs to mind is The Bloggess. If you haven’t come across her yet Google is your friend. I am very jealous of that natural ability to write as you speak. It’s all in the flow. The turn of phrase. She has become a legend in her own lifetime. And her books which include ‘Furiously Happy’ do exceptionally well.

So maybe she is all I need.

End.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

