Lord Byron and Peter Cochran

If you needed any proof how out of touch I have become on the subject of Lord Byron since my book was published, the other day I read of the passing of Peter Cochran in May 2015.

Afterwards, whilst searching for another contact I found Peter’s name in my emails and found our correspondence from way back in 2002 when I wrote an article about Tita Falcieri for The Newstead Byron Society Review. It was one of the first published pieces I ever wrote on the subject.

Looking back, the path of our conversation seems so incredibly naive, knowing what I now know. I was still getting to grips with the basics of my family tree and the life of Byron and Shelley when we were writing to each other on this and the wrecking of the Don Juan in the Bay of Spezia. It is a realisation how far my work has come.

I don’t know if he ever knew that my book was published. I hope he did. I guess I’ll never know. It’s strange because my email is littered with brief conversations with recognisable names regarding publishing, tv programmes and visits to archives. I don’t delete any of it. They are the legacy of years of research. And it’s nice to dip in once in a while.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

