Taking Off The Brakes

‘Never ride a bike with the brakes on. If something is proving too difficult, give up and do something else.’

Geoff Dyer via Jon Winokur

Several posts ago I mentioned in passing how the book I had published in 2014 may have been the script I SHOULD be writing now.

So I’m just lobbing in a curve ball here and saying that I’ve put away the other project I was struggling with and I’ve pulled out my book and started the next phase of ‘A Most Faithful Attendant’.

And unlike the other one, this comes easily. Scenes that have played out in my head for years, fall onto the paper at an alarming rate. Nothing has been forgotten. The pitch and the plot are already there. The characters, all based in truth, already formed.  Places and dates already dictated to me from history. I enjoy the accuracy and the scope that it gives me. And I’m putting my slant on it.

I am pulling out my old research materials, re-reading my work and finding just how much I still like Lord Byron and his wit and his writing style. Whatever people said about him, I think he was a nice person. Ahead of his time. And that makes him fascinating to us. But he is just a small element of the script I am now writing although clearly a focus of sorts.

I’m working out how I can include it in what I am doing now. And I am having so much fun. This feels right. It happens because it wants to. Because it can. And because I can do it.

So there it is.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

