Distractions

At the risk of giving away my age, I am finding the difference between writing now and when I started very very different.

Most of my writing these days is in blog form. I write as part of my business, so it’s very much industry based though still creative as it’s from my personal view point. And then I have this blog which I’ve recently begun for the writing side. I have an overactive brain that needs to vent.

I wanted to document reviving an old script and whatever comes after that. It occurred to me not so long ago that I have achieved something. Every day is another writing experience. If I’m not actually writing I’m writing in my head. It never stops. Incidentally I wrote this one in my head in the shower.

Back when I started out, and admittedly I did start young, there weren’t distractions. I was still a teen living at home when I began the script I am trying to rewrite now. We didn’t have the internet or social media. I wasn’t even allowed to have a TV in my bedroom. I didn’t get a mobile phone or access to the internet until I went out to work full time in London.

So I found it easy to lose myself in the worlds I created on paper. I could read books for hours. These days I find it impossible to concentrate on anything for long periods. And it’s definitely a failing. I am constantly darting between different projects and tasks. I can’t even watch a film without picking up my phone to check my social media streams.

Admittedly my world has changed a lot. I run my own business which is all consuming. A lot of what I do involves social media. I am my own PR, marketing, advertising and sales agent as well as creating the product. The industry I work in is quite fickle. You have to keep at it non stop to stay in the game and make enough to live on. And I have workaholic tendencies so there is little holding me back. Work is important to me. If you put work first everything else will follow. You have to be dedicated and unrelenting. You have to really want it.

But I can’t disconnect for the more substantial writing in my life. Once my book was published in 2014 (and I admit it was a struggle to complete once my business launched) I found it hard to focus and I haven’t completed any major writing or research since then.

Now I want to redraft my script I am finding it difficult. I need to get into the head of my leading man, to get to the essence of what he is so I can rewrite him. Disconnecting and solely concentrating on it seems impossible with everything else that’s going on around me.

I am beginning to understand why people go on retreats. The only way I am going to manage this is to go somewhere there is no internet.

I get very jealous of people who don’t use social media. Mostly these are people who have others to do it for them. I suppose you reach a certain level of fame and you don’t need to tweet or add selfies because fans do that for you. And agents find you work. People are basically asking you to work with them. I can’t see me ever reaching that point. I’m not even sure I would want that. But it’s a nice thought.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

