Re-Evaluating Your Family Tree

My Grandad was one of 11. He owned a book about the Scottish Border Reiver families believing we were descended from one of the clans. I studied that book avidly. I believed it. We all believed it.

I’ve spent years tracing our genealogy. And after lots of research it turns out we are not. In fact, not only are we not from a Scottish family, our surname isn’t correct either.

We actually hail from Northern Ireland, the surname Gallagher slowly corrupted once the earliest ancestor arrived on English soil before 1826 and then deliberately sabotaged because of a family scandal.

It’s not the same as deceit. In fact it’s fascinating. It’s the evolution of a genealogy. But we have been living under the wrong name.

It’s ironic. Because on the other side of this tree we have also been living under a false name. You can read my book for the details of that. What’s also ironic is that on the flip side is adoption. So nothing is as it seems.  Every surname is wrong. Every single one.

I’ve got a whole new slant on my ancestry now. And on my identity. Every time I find something else in the DNA, my perception of who I am morphs a little more.

Human nature is at its most basic, fascinating. At its worst, heartbreaking.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

