How To Do Sequels With Dignity

Unless you’ve been living in an internet Bermuda Triangle for the past couple of months you’ll have been aware of the return of Cold Feet.

As a general rule a little part of me dies every time I see the announcement of a sequel or revival. I am difficult to please. But the trailers suggested this was going to be momentous. At least, that’s what I hoped as I tuned into episode one back in September.

It might be because everyone in it has grown up in real time. It might be because they’re the real life friend circle I’ve never found. It may be because it’s Manchester which is now my adopted home city. It may be because the characters are so personable and apart from being a little older are the same people. Or maybe it’s a little bit of everything plus the seeming ease with which its creator Mike Bullen appears to have stepped back into the role and given tangible futures to some of our best loved tv chums.

But whatever it was, I shed a few tears as they appeared before me like old friends I hadn’t seen in ages. And you know what, that’s saying something.

I am a firm believer of ‘quit while you’re ahead’. Whilst it is painful to come to the end of a great series and WISH for another one, deep down I know that if it goes wrong it will literally tear me apart. Leaving the world you have loved hanging in the balance for eternity is far more preferential to seeing it die the slow and painful death of falling ratings and dismal writing. Not so with Cold Feet.

I really don’t need to go into the details. If you’re watching it, you’ll know what I’m talking about. I want to give Pete hugs and tell him he can beat depression and get his life back on track. I want to slap Adam, as usual, and tell him, like Jen, that he is possibly making a big mistake with Angela (though of course I really want him to be happy ever after) and I desperately want David and Helen to get back together because I think they are so made for each other.

But I digress. It is a rare team that can recreate a sequel that is a homage to its original. Six Feet Under, Breaking Bad and *most of* the Alien Trilogy are all examples of enormous success. But they are rare. I read that there is a chance of another series. And I feel safe in Mike Bullen’s hands that it’ll be a dignified seventh offering if it happens.

So to Cold Feet I salute you. It is indeed a warm ‘Welcome Home’.

You can read my book ‘A Most Faithful Attendant – The Life of Giovanni Battista Falcieri‘ by purchasing it here.

Author: crinkum-crankum

Published author. Scriptwriter. Researcher. Designer. Descendant of Giovanni Battista Falcieri. Volunteer at Newstead Abbey. Byron groupie

Leave a Reply

